“The Locket”

RIP KP 1998-2009 I still miss ya buddy…  ❤

“The Locket”

 

Clench my fists, to protect the memory like a locket

That carries your heart vicariously through my struggles.

Don’t you know they belong to us both?

For when I am caught in the undertow, your kindness

Is what brings me safely to the surface

And I see your smiling face, never disappointed.

 

Little brother your eyes are gleaming, reflecting

The sand beneath your toes

And we tread the water and jump into the ocean

indifferent to where it goes.

 

Time is short and fleeting, but a ripple in the pond

That gently carries consciousness like lily pads.

Don’t you know that we’re all lost?

And when I saw you for the last time on that table

With serenity in your eyes, you kissed my cheek

As unafraid you found your way and said you’d wait for me.

 

Little brother, sleep with your eyes open

Welcoming the Earth as your new home-

The freest permanent arrangement

Where your child’s soul may roam.

 

 

Now I fight my way, memories all I have to fend off

Reason and judgment which haunt me so

Don’t you know the struggle? No?

Perhaps it’s too much to ask that you come back,

In fact it’s downright insane, nevermind.

I’ll just forgive you for leaving me behind.

 

Little brother, oh dear prince

I’ll spread your ashes off the coast

And of all the things you taught me

I’ll remember love the most

And when the waves take me away

I’ll know the path I never chose

Because we’ll float the same hand in hand

Indifferent to where it goes.

One thought on ““The Locket”

Leave a Reply

